New York  |  Family Law

question bubble
7/06/00, 2:12 pm

Legal Question


Why will some adoptions not be made final

I am a 26 year old single mother of an 8 year old boy and will be married in 2002. Now, my soon to be husband wants to adopt my son. I have never received a child support payment and there is no father listed on the birth certificate. I read that adoption is possible without the biological fathers consent but the adoption may not be made final. Are there circumstances where the adoption is always made final? I just think it is wrong that I have to get permission from a man who has never once seen my son or taken any responsibility for him. His views on this should not even matter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search