Legal Question in Medical Leave in New York

I am in a union and my employer won an arbitration case against an employee who stayed out sick after the employers medical department said he was fit to work. His doctor stated in his FMLA certfication that he should be out longer. In our contract it states in order to get paid for FMLA leave the employers medical department has to approve your illness for pay not for FMLA leave. Since the arbitration decision my employer has made it a habit of forcing people to come to work on light duty when they are to ill and denying others all together. They are abusing their authority. Is there anything I can do about it?

Asked on 6/20/11, 2:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Randall Brett Law Office of Randall P. Brett
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your union can file a grievance. Talk to your union representative.

Read more
6/21/11, 6:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Medical Leave Act Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now