New York | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I live in Brooklyn and my house is about 3 feet from my property boundary. This wouldn't be allowed under modern zoning, but the house is old.
Years ago, my neighbor planted a line of 8 trees along their side of the property boundary, about 1 or 1.5 feed inside their property. They were not supposed to get very big and now they are 50 feet tall. Of course, being less than 5 feet from my house, the tops of the 50 foot trees have completely engulfed the upper floors of the house on that side.
I know about trimming the trees at my property line, but unfortunatleyt this is only 2 or 3 feet from the upper floor windows and the branches grow back in two months, so the cost of keeping this up is very prohibitive..
I am wondering if there is some way that I can force them to cut down these trees, given that they are less than 5 feet from my house. Does anyone have experience with a case like this?


