New York | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I moved into my apartment after leaving a shelter on a government program. I moved someone into my apartment and allowed him to use the extra bedroom I have. About 2 months after hes been staying here we came to an agreement that he should pay me $200/mth. Now he stayed with me for almost a year and paid nothing. I had given him written warnings on how much he owed me which he signed and verbally ones also. Now in July of this year he had given me $100 about a day or two later I gave him another written notice informing him that he should have at least another hundred when I return from my weekend trip. When I returned he wasnt around and I figured he just spent the night out because his belongings were still here. About 3 weeks later I realized he moved when I recieved a change of address mail for him. Now his belongings are still in my apartment almost 4 months later. I wanted to know if I can take him to court for the money he owes me? Or is he entitled to his things without paying me anything?


