New York | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Right of privacy for First Lady
One of students asked me that if she wrote a play -- a comedy -- for production in New York City about the trials and tribulations that Hillary Clinto went through during the Monica affair, could the First Lady sue and stop the production on the grounds that the author invented and fictionalized accounts of the story and held made Ms. Clinton up for ridicule? What about the legal grounds of other First Ladies in a similar siuation. Could the estate of Bess Truman, Margaret Truman, for example, stop a play about her mother because it fictionalized or distorted events about her life?
Thanks for your help!


