New York  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
7/10/05, 11:20 pm

Legal Question


Illegal Sublease

If you were subletting an apartment illegally (for example you are staying at the original tenant's apartment but they did not notify the landlord of the sublease) and the orginal tenant charges you more than the landlord charges him/her, is their something you can do? Also, if the original tenant refuses to release security deposit to illegal sublessee, can the sublessee press charges or file a complaint?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search