New York  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
4/29/10, 11:45 am

Legal Question


What will the outcome of the court case for my situation? I signed a year lease in December on a apartment to move in Jan 1st. Two weeks before my financial situation changed and could no longer afford the apartment. I notfied the Landlord and he said wwe would lose the secuirty deposit and we were responsble to pay the rent until they find a new tenant. We asked for the keys to the apartment and he denied us the keys and access to the apt. Now 4 months later he is taking is to court for rent for the 3 months. Are we legally responsible even if we never occupied the apt and were denied access?? Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search