New York  |  Mediation

question bubble
1/12/06, 7:02 am

Legal Question


Rights of Children to See Parent Who is Bedridden

My eldest sister and I have been denied access to our mother for the past several years. She is bedridden and is being cared for by another sister in New York State. We were not notified that our mother had been moved out of her house to live with the sister and her husband in another town. We were able to obtain what we believe to be the address, however, all mail has been returned because there is no mail receptacle. Calls to a cell phone number remain unanswered, and letters to our mother's house (which we believe is being rented) are also unanswered. Our mother is elderly and we have no idea about her current condition. Furthermore, we're can't be certain we would be notified if she died. Do my sister and I have any legal rights against our sister to be able to see and talk with our mother? Can we get some kind of cour order? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search