New York  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/30/06, 6:21 am

Legal Question


V-P Shunt

If a doctor installs a VP-shunt in a patient which is not a programmable shunt even though a programmable shunt was requested and the improper shunt results in the patient getting a large hygroma which causes irreparable brain damage is the doctor guilty of malpractice? According to current medical literature a programmable shunt is considered the preferred choice in this type of surgery. The surgeon did not want to install a programmable shunt because, in his words, ''you have to fuss with them all the time making adjustments.''


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search