New York  |  Native American Law

question bubble
7/29/07, 12:59 pm

Legal Question


guardianship of a native american child

my brother-in-law (native american)successfully gained full custody of his children with my sister (non-nativtive american) and has blocked all efforts of our family to gain partial custody of these children. They have resided on the Reservation in NY for apprx 10 years. He now wants us to take guardianship of a minor son ( I am more than willing) informally without notifying the tribal leaders. How does the fact that the child is recognized by the tribe affect my ability as a non-native american to take temporary, then formal guardianship with only his parent's permission .


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search