New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
3/24/04, 4:32 pm

Legal Question


Daughter falls in school

My ten year old daughter fell down the stairs on school property while taking something to the office for the teacher. The school called to inform me and gave her an ice pack for the ankle. When I arrived I immediately noticed her ankle was very swollen and took her to the ER. The X-rays showed per the doctor she; broke her ankle, fractured her chin bone and cracked the growth plate. She had other bruises on her hands/arms. She was placed in a hard cast and crutches for six weeks. I called the school to let them know she would be back in a few days on crutches and they said no. They stated they did not want to be held liable because of the crutches and could not return to school. Once the cast was removed she was restricted from gym, dance, and sports. She plays basketball and dance and could no longer do that. She was uncomfortable and in pain, depressed, sad and missed her school and friends. She in psychical therapy now and still has problems with the ankle.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search