New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
6/02/09, 2:29 pm

Legal Question


Injuryed in a Department store.

I was injured in a department store on 5/17/2009 when my shoe was penetrated by an alarm pin which punctured and was stuck in the crease in my big toe. The stores insurance company called me an stated that they were sending me a check for $200 to help cover the co-pay for the emergency room visit. But they asked that I do not deposit the check until I sign a general release for which tells me I am giving up my rights and I agree to the $200 settlement amount. How should I pursue this legally? I feel they are just trying to throw me a dog bone to be quiet. Also, I spoke and Attorney and he stated try to work out a settlement with the insurance company. Is there any place that I can find information on the type of settlement that I should agree to in a situation like mine? I not trying to get rich, but I would like a fair settlement. One other thing, I requested a copy of the incident claim report and I was denied by the store, which referred me to the stores insurance company for a copy and they denied my request. Can they legally not provide me a copy? Please advise. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search