New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
1/25/01, 2:03 pm

Legal Question


Personal Injury Claim

Hi,

Question is regarding an accident in a store involving me and my minor son.

We did not suffer any major injury (some bruises and a swelling and pain which lasted for a few weeks).

I would like to try to collect the Medical Expenses (also my Health Insurance Provider is trying to collect expenses from them) and a small amount for emotional suffering.

Questions --

1) How much should I claim for the emotional suffering (as I mentioned, it does not involve major physical injury)?

2) The claim for me and son combined is beyond the Small Courts limit in NY State. Is it wise to bring two separate claims so that later I might go to small claims court, if required?

3) Does the NY small claims court allow claim for emotional suffering ? (As I understand Small Claims court mostly deals with cases involving Actual financial loss)?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search