New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
7/08/04, 12:32 pm

Legal Question


Sister slipped on Metro card and fell down subway stairs

My sister was coming home from work. It was raining and as she was walking down the subway stairs, she noticed someone had vomited on the stairs. Trying to avoid it, she instead slipped on a discarded metro card (there were quite a few all over the stairs) and fell all the way to the bottom. Her husband who was with her was yelling to the token booth for help, but they wouldn't leave the booth. He carried her up the stairs and rather than wait for an ambulance, he put her in a cab to the hospital which was only a few blocks away. She broke her pelvis in 2 places and ruptured her bladder. She has been out of work for 2 months already. She is a waitress and it may be awhile before she can get back to work. How likely is she to get any kind of settlement? Isn't it the Transportation Authorities responsibility to keep the stairs clean of debris, especially in the rain?!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search