New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/01/03, 1:48 pm

Legal Question


Judgements and closings

My husband and I were approved for a home equity line of credit. We own a home worth approx.$130000.00. After signing and sending back the agreement,the bank ran a title search and a judgement came up on my husband and I from a former landlord dating back to 1994 in the amount of $1720.00. Long story short,my attorney called her at work and she agreed over the phone to settle for $1500.00 and then faxed her the information she needs to sign and have notorized and send off to the bank so we can close. She hasn't sent the paperwork and is not responding to any correspondence from my attorney. The bank has extended our agreement for another month, but we don't know what to do next to avoid a court case which could take a while. Could you please give advice?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search