Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

Me and my sister own my moms house 50/50-since out mom passed away-i

am trying to buy her out at a fair price-but she wants more and the only eay we can do that is if we refinance in a few years and give her the rest-now she is saying she doesn't wanna wait for the money! And now she is saying she can charge me rent! Is this true?

Also if we have to sell the house is she responsible for the taxes and water bill?

Asked on 2/14/12, 1:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you are living there, you would owe her rent. All owners would be responsible to pay the debts, although the water bill should be your charge, since you are living there.

Read more
2/15/12, 4:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now