Legal Question in Social Security Law in New York

My husband was a taxi driver and away before he could report his 1099, file his back taxes and current ones. I applied for my children (3) social security benefits. But, I was told that I cannot qualify because my husband never filed his taxes. My question: Can I as his lawful wife file his back taxes & reapply for the social security benefits?

Asked on 6/16/13, 8:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arnold Nager Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Probably but there may be substantial penalties and interest for not filing on time.

Read more
6/21/13, 1:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now