New York | Workers Comp
Legal Question
I currently run a small medical delivery service out of NYC, and use independent contractors. Am I required by law to carry workmans comp for them ? If so, who is required to pay ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Mark S. Moroknek |
The Department of Labor has a publication on its website that explains the definition of employee versus independant contractor. The distinction is not based on what they are called, but rather, how much control the employer has over the manner and methods used to complete the work the person does.
Many small businesses have taken the position they have no employees, only to be investigated and assessed unemployment insurance contributions. Invariably, it results in a long drawn out process with potential criminal penalties as well as civil liability. I have experience in the area if you wish to discuss this. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C.
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Rothstein Law PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Calcagno & Associates, PLLC
Staten Island, NY
Questions Answered: 381
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Law Offices of Lawrence Silverman, PC
Garden City, NY
Questions Answered: 158
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-13
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Search Questions and Answers


