I have a question that's actually concerning my wife. She works at a daycare as a lead teacher. The owners of the daycare do not pay her if she is on the clock for more than 8 hours in a day. So if she clocks in at 8 and clocks out at 5:20, she's only getting paid for 8 hours. So at the end of the work week, if she has more than 40 hours not only is she not getting paid for the extra time spent at work but she's also not getting overtime. Is this legal?
The owners also recently had a meeting where he told them that if someone does not come to releave them for a lunch break right at their time, they still have to be back from lunch at their scheduled end of lunch. So let's say her scheduled lunch is from 12-1. If someone doesn't come to releave her until 12:15 - she still has to be back at 1. Once again, she is not being paid this time as her 1 hour lunch is unpaid.
Any light you can shed on this would be great.
1 Answer from Attorneys
She is required to be paid for all of the work that she does. If she works 8.5 hours, her employer is required to pay that amount. If the employer demands that she work more than 8 hours and only pays her for 8 hours, she should contact the NC Department of Labor at 1-800-NC LABOR. They will contact the employer for an investigation in the matter. If possible, your wife should collect proof possible to show that she worked the hours that she alleges.
Related Questions & Answers
I signed a contract to clean a local university dormitory. I purchased the necessary... Asked 9/01/11, 8:24 am in United States North Carolina Business Law
We own a local restaurant in a small town and the local health department had a... Asked 8/24/11, 1:53 pm in United States North Carolina Business Law
My brother & I opened a restaurant in Dec 2010. He is the owner in name only... Asked 8/13/11, 7:46 pm in United States North Carolina Business Law
I am an equal partner and vice president of a small publishing company. May I... Asked 7/27/11, 8:27 am in United States North Carolina Business Law
If it is voted to tape record BOD meetings, do the recordings have to be erased... Asked 7/24/11, 7:29 am in United States North Carolina Business Law