Legal Question in Business Law in North Carolina

I worked for a company for just over a week. I decided the job was not for me and I quit. First thing is the company is based 3 hours from my current location and the person that hired me is holding my paycheck at that office. He said he would not mail it. Every time I try to make a good time to meet he states "it should be okay". I feel as though I will drive all the way there and he will make up an excuse about why he doesn't have it or he will deliberately leave when we are supposed to meet. The second thing is I had to order uniforms to work at the company. These were ordered threw a separate company I paid the company extra to ship them because they were 3 hours away from my home. Before I quit he went to the uniform store and picked up half my order and stated to me he would ship them. I have yet to receive these from him. Is there anything I can do about this ? I feel I am stuck.

Asked on 7/05/13, 8:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

First, you have to try to pick up your check and uniforms. Until you do this, you have no claims. If you attempt to get the items and they refuse, you can call the NC Department of Labor for help.

Read more
7/06/13, 4:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now