Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Ohio

i wrote a check to a friend as a loan. Soon after my account went into overdraft status and I notified them that the funds were not available and asked that the check be returned. Instead it was cashed at a payday loan store. The payday loan store is now threatening me with criminal prosecution as check fraud. I have filed chapter 7 but was told by this company that they are exempt because the check was negotiated for cash and that I will be going to jail. Is this true? I live in Ohio...

Asked on 6/12/13, 8:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Michael Benson Benson Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Have your bankruptcy lawyer explore whether there is violation of the automatic stay and/or a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

- BensonBankruptcy.com

Read more
Answered on 6/12/13, 10:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Ohio

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now