Legal Question in Criminal Law in Ohio

A friend of mine was arrested in Ohio on a domestic violence charge, but he gave the police a false name and birth date. He now lives in Michigan and is incarcerated there for unrelated charges. Ohio knows that he lied about his name and is sending the jail in Michigan his photo to confirm their suspisions. I think he also has a failur to appear in Ohio, under the false name. My question is: Will Ohio come and get him for lying about his name? Or is the crime not "bad enough" for them to spend all the money on the extradition?

Asked on 2/16/10, 7:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Edward DiCato Edward DiCato Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Generally, a state will not extradite for a misdemeanor. They will, however, do so for a felony. Please feel free to conatct me if you have further questions. Ed DiCato

Read more
2/21/10, 7:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Ohio

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now