Ohio | Insurance Law
Legal Question
After my mother died we found out that she had a life insurance policy on my daughter we were unaware of. The insurance company says we need to go to probate to get the ownership of the life insurance policy transferred from my mother's name to my daughter's. my mother owned nothing and therefore we did not have any reason to go to probate. the insurance company won't/hasn't explained what it is we need from a probate court - the policy is quite a substantial amount and would not be a good idea to walk away from the policy. Could someone explain what it is that we need to do/get to transfer ownership of the policy. i already have a copy of the death certificate. I thank you for your assistance.


