Ohio  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
2/03/10, 10:49 am

Legal Question


Background info: In 2003, I was riding with a friend of mine when she passed a stalled car to the left in Shaker Heights, Ohio. The stalled car moved right when we were moving and.......WHAM...an accident occured! I hopped into the driver's seat of the friend's car, to help her avoid getting arrested due to an old warrant. (Crazy, I know but, I was young and silly.) We went to court and I was charged with "driver's awareness" for the accident. Meanwhile I owe $3,300.00 (plus daily interest) to an insurance company for the damages to the other car, which we said we would spit down the middle, but I have been unsuccessful getting the "friend" to pay.

Question: Is there any type of way that I can get this accident/debt tranferred into her name? Or did I mess that up when I jumped into the driver's seat? If I can't get it transferred, do I have any grounds to file a civil suit for the amount owed? (I have email coversations where she admits to causing the accident.)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search