Re: Computer Privacy and Spousal Rights
Ask yourself: how do you really know WHOSE computer it is, and what you are getting yourself into?
Since the answer is clearly that you DON'T know, that would be answer enough for me.
Legally that's the sort of question you don't want to have to answer. It's one thing to repair or wipe a hard-drive, because it's reasonable to assume that someone who brings in a computer owns it.
It's another thing entirely to hack into areas which are clearly password-protected, even if the family owns the computer.
Does a wife have a privacy interest protected from her husband, especially one clearly expressed by way of a password? I would definitely say she does.
He is not allowed to enter her medical, employment or psychological records without permission (or a court-order), so I would, as a precaution, use this policy to guide your own dealings in this area. You can't hack into her medical records, so don't hack into her computer.
Two votes for pass up the business.