Oklahoma  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
6/04/04, 9:12 pm

Legal Question


charged with felony possession of meth -HELP ME!

On 2-27-04, I was arrested in Oklahoma, less than 1/2 gram of methamphetamine, and a syringe. I was charged with felony possession of controlled dangerous substance for the meth, and a misdemeanor for the paraphenalia. I spent 3 months in jail, and had a court appointed atty. I waived my rights to a preliminary hearing and plead not guilty. I was offered a plea bargain of 2 years in prison, plus three years probation.

Being that I have NO PRIORS, I refused this offer. I am currently out of jail on bond. The judge says that rehab is the key, and most people do a 6-9 month intensive, in-house rehab program. I am in the process of locating such rehab now.

My questions are:

1) I now need a felony atty. While in rehab, I will be unable to work. Will I need to hire an atty before my trial in October?

2)Is there a place to hire a lawyer with reduced fees or fees based on income?

3)what are my chances of probation if i complete the rehab

program?

I have never had a drug conviction, no felonies or misdemeaners. But Oklahoma is a zero tolerance state when

it comes to drugs. I don't want to go to prison. please advise me. Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search