Oregon  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
11/08/09, 6:10 am

Legal Question


When is a claim arising out of a state imposed fine or penalty ripe for review in a federal court?

If a party seeks to challenge the constitutionality of a fine imposed (as excessive or imposed without due process of law, possibly as a taking) by a state actor, preferably before the fine is enforced (so perhaps through an appeal of some sort) where can that party file the claim?

Can the party immediately appeal a state imposed fine or penalty to a federal court (district court or court of claims), or must they first exhaust all available state remedies (such as appeals through the state court system)?

Does it depend on the underlying state law that the fine or penalty was imposed under? In other words, are there different exhaustion requirements based on the law at issue?

If a party wishes to seek an injunction to stop the state from imposing the fine, rather than pay the fine and attempt to collect it later, what is the procedure to do so?

Alternatively, If they have had to pay the fine or penalty, what is the procedure for appealing that decision: exhaust state court remedies or immediately file in federal court?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search