Pennsylvania | Disability Law
Legal Question
workplace disability discrimination
My husbands arm has been paralyzed for 25 years. At this point in his life he has lived with the use of one arm for longer than he had the use of two, so he has adapted his life to the disability. He has started a job in the warehouse where I work. I know the job and he can do it. Prior to his interview the HR manager came to me and asked me about him. I explained the situation. He interviewed my husband, asked him questions about his arm and hired him, being satisfied that he could do the job. After working for 2 days as an order filler in another dept., and doing the job better than most people with 2 good arms, he was sent to my dept. to be trained as a stocker. His ''trainer'' told the Ops Mgr. that he would not be able to do the job. (He has been doing this job at a dept. store for over a year without cutting himself or the product.) The Ops Mgr. called him into the office, closed the door, and asked him if he was going to be able to handle the job. He said they thought he was going to cut himself because his arm was paralyzed. Two other people without disabilities also started that day and they were not asked if they could handle the job. Isn't this discrimination? He was humiliated and the trainer harassed him all day.


