Pennsylvania | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Bankruptcy
i am looking in to how do you file bankruptcy and if this is the right thing for me
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: Bankruptcy As you may know, there are generally two types of bankruptcies for consumers, Chapter 7 and 13. The former is generally for those who simply require the elimination of unsecured debt such as credit cards. The latter is generally for those who have fallen behind in secured debt such as a mortgage. Chapter 13 allows you to repay any arrears over five years.
A bankruptcy protects just about all consumer assets. There is a $20,000.00 minimum homestead exemption in your principal residence per person. The contents of your home, if any one item is not worth a great deal, are exempt up to at least $8,000.00. There are many other exemptions, as well. Vehicles are exempt to a minimum amount of $3,000.00 and, there is what is commonly known as the "wildcard" exemption. You may use up to one-half of the homestead exemption for any asset you want to protect.
An exemption is a dollar amount assigned to an asset so that, if a Trustee ( the person charged with liquidating assets) were to attempt to sell such an asset, he would have to pay the exemption amount to you. Since the stated exemptions usually cover the value of the assets, most consumer cases are determined to be "no asset". Thus, you simply obtain a discharge of your debt.
You should speak with experienced bankruptcy counsel to discuss all the ramifications.
I trust this has been helpful, but feel free to call or e-mail with further questions.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Nahrgang & Associates, P.C.
Collegeville, PA
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Bodell, Bove', Grace & Van Horn. P.C.
Wilmington, DE
Questions Answered: 195
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Law Offices of Stanley Fudor
Cranberry Twp., PA
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-05
Brandon J. Barnett Attorney At Law
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
Search Questions and Answers


