Pennsylvania  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
3/04/08, 10:35 am

Legal Question


Bankruptcy & IRS 1099-A Form

I filed bankruptcy and my debt was

discharged in 2007. I relinquished

the home back to the mortgage

company. They put it up for sheriff in

2007. I received a 1099-A from the

mortgage company showing

outstanding principal and fair market

value. My bankruptcy attorney said I

am not obligated to pay anything. Is

this true. I have not made any

money off this because it went back

to the mortgage company. My

bankruptcy attorney said they should

not have even sent it to me since my

debt was discharged in a Chapter 7

bankruptcy.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search