Pennsylvania | Bankruptcy
9/30/02, 10:01 pm
Legal Question
what are considered assets?
I do not own or rent my home,can I still file for bankruptcy? What are considered assets?
what are considered assets?
I do not own or rent my home,can I still file for bankruptcy? What are considered assets?
|
Read More Answered By: Stanley Fudor |
Re: what are considered assets? Assets consist of cash on hand, bank accounts, cedrtain type of pension plans. Also, you you must consider the type of debts you are planning to discharge, there are several types of debts, i.e. student loans, that may not be discharged. Regardless, there are exemption limits that one may protect under the Bankruptcy Code. |
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Nichols |
Re: what are considered assets? Assets are generally of two types. First, there are real property assets (real estate) and according to your question you have no real property. The second type of assets are personal property. In the bankruptcy you will be required to prepare and file a list of all of your major personal property. Personal property assets are everything other than real property and includes such things as cars, clothes, furniture, IRA's, boats, 401K's, checking accounts, jewelry. This is just a partial list.
You can definitely file bankruptcy even if you own assets. In fact most people have assets when they file and normally the person filing is permitted to keep all of their assets. Please feel free to call me personally to discuss your situation in more detail. I would be pleased to serve as your attorney in this matter. ph. (800) 303-0720 |
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Collegeville, PA
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Wilmington, DE
Questions Answered: 195
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Cranberry Twp., PA
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-05
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
► Is filing for bankruptcy the thing I should do? Hello, I live in central...
► Stop foreclosure I have completed the petition needed for chapter 13 bankruptcy....
► Does husband need to honor home equity loan from divorce five years ago When I was...
► Guidelines What is the criteria for an individual filing bankruptcy in PA, if they...
► Hearing questions What are the questions that a judge asks you during the meeting of...
► Property assets i have been considering bankruptcy, however i have a car on lien...
► Chapter 13 I am in foreclosure of my home, if I file Chapter 13 will it stop the...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press