Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
I have a busines which owes money for product sold to them. A
A:: How do I collect
B:: How do I check if they have filed to close there business
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sharmil McKee |
I believe you are asking how to collect a past-due account from a business, who owes you money. You have a couple of avenues to collect. You can try letters, phone calls, emails. You can hire an outside agency to collect on your behalf. You can hire an attorney to collect on your behalf. You can report the debt to the three credit reporting agencies (there is a fee involved). You can always sue them in court. Once you have a judgment, you have more options such as seizing bank accounts and assets. In addition, judgments are reported to credit reporting agencies for free.
The best way to determine if a business is closing is to search the bankruptcy filings. You can search all federal dockets through PACER (Register here http://pacer.psc.uscourts.gov/). In addition, you can search the Pennsylvania Department of State's corporate register. All businesses (except solo proprietors) are required to register with the Department of State prior to conducting any business in the state. Those same businesses are required to notify the state if they are dissolving. (Visit http://dos.state.pa.us to search the business filings.)
If the business is a corporation, it is required to run a public notice in the newspaper that it is dissolving. Most newspapers offer an online version of its public notices. The newspapers in Pennsylvania have reportedly collaborated to form http://pa.mypublicnotices.com You can search this site for any public notices about your client.
Good luck.
Sharmil McKee | Business Lawyer | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Search Questions and Answers


