Pennsylvania  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/27/05, 5:48 am

Legal Question


How to Garnish a Bank Account

I received a judgment in my favor from the District Justice and no appeal had been filed. I then filed a Judgment against an individual and their business. Despite the fact the judgment has been filed and the defendant notified, I still have not been compensated for the money judgment. Therefore, I intend to garnish that individual's bank account.

My question is, however, what if the account happened to be a joint account? How would the bank handle this issue? It is going to cost me more monies to file a Praecipe and Writ of Execution as well as Sheriff's costs; therefore, I would like to have an idea if I will be able to recover any monies going this route. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search