Pennsylvania  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
1/19/05, 10:07 pm

Legal Question


Employer searches of employee property

I am retired and work part time as a computer sales specialist for a local retailer. When leaving work at the end of a night (and only at the end of the night when the store is closing), the store manager(s) ask employees if they can look in any bag, briefcase, or container the employee is carrying. They say they have a ''RIGHT'' to do this. Do they have a ''RIGHT'' to conduct such a search and, if so, where does it end? Can they search my pockets or do a strip search?

Doesn't the Constitution give me the right to not be searched without a warrant or due cause?

Can an employer as a ''condition of employment'' usurp my rights?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search