Pennsylvania | Consumer Law
Legal Question
HVAC Issues
I recently contracted a company to install a new furnace, water heater, and central air in my home. There has been nothing but problems since the beginning. We requested and were billed for a 40 gallon water heater, 30 gallon installed. One week after install, our water heater was shut down by the untility company due to unsafe ventilation. If the poor ventilation problem was not caught, from a change visit by the utility company, long term health effects could have resulted even potential death. In all the work was untimely and sloppy. The company has been to my property 4 times to finnish and fix a job that was quoted at one day. At no time was there a contract presented to me, and at no time did I sign any paper work from the company. The company has fixed their errors and since billed us. The bill is slightly discounted, but seemingly not enough to make up for the mistakes and lost time. What are my options at this point. Do I have the legal right not to pay the bill, due to the lack of contract.


