Pennsylvania  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
5/02/05, 2:12 pm

Legal Question


Must I refund a buyer's money for purchase never picked up

Four months ago I sold a piano for $300 to someone. He paid me cash and I gave him a receipt. He never picked up the piano although I contacted him once and then attempted to contact him a second time, but never got a response. I finally gave the piano away about a week ago, via a newspaper ad. The buyer probably saw the ad (it's a distinctive type of piano) because one day after it was picked up, I had a note from the original buyer on my door. I didn't respond, but then had a phone message from his daughter. Am I obliged to pay him back after all this time? Is it any different giving it away than if I'd just put it on the street for trash?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search