Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
My son had a student loan which I co-signed. He has since passed away. Am I still responsible for the loan?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Teitell |
I'm very sorry for your loss. I do not know the answer to your question. My suggestion is to contact the company that is processing the loan & ask. It may depend on the type of loan. Was this a Stafford loan? A Perkins loan? A private loan not subject to government regulation? You should review the original loan documents, especially the Note, to see if death is an excuse for non-payment. In some loans there is life insurance attached to the loan which pays off the loan in case of death. I suspect that if you co-signed the note you are responsible for repayment, but you need to review the loan documents. You may be able to contact the Bar Association in your county & get an attorney to review the documents for a reasonable fee. Good luck! |
Top Attorneys in PA
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2700
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Search Questions and Answers


