Pennsylvania  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/08/08, 3:23 pm

Legal Question


being sued over a credit card debt

I got a summons about an old credit card debt from a collection agency. They sent it to me twice before at an address I never lived at and both times magistrate filed for a continuance or I would have lost a default judgement. The address appears on one of my credit reports that doesn't say where I actually live and also lists my current address, it's on another of my credit reports that I lived there in 2004, and I had it removed from the 3rd one last year since I never lived there. The other two wouldn't remove it because they said I had business there if I never lived there or something. I googled the address and it's a house so I don't know what business I had there. I did once have a credit card with the # they're reporting so it's not from someone stealing my identity or just someone else with the same name. I have a couple of questions about this. First the statute of limitations in PA where I live is 4 years. According to my credit report my last payment was in July 2004. They filed suit the first time in Sept 2008 so am I in the clear for the statute of limitations? I have a letter from the original creditor saying that I was 5 months delinquent in Nov. 2004. Will this be enough to win the case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search