Pennsylvania | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Definition of Sexual Assault\Harrassment\Molestation
Does kissing someone (on the lips and both parties over 18) who does not consent to it constitute Sexual Assault, Sexual Harassment, Molestation, or--name removed--different crime?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stanley Fudor |
Re: Definition of Sexual Assault\Harrassment\Molestation It would be considered Indecent Assault. The defintion of "Indecent contact" is any touching of the sexual or other intimate parts of the person for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire, in either person. The actual criminal statute reads: § 3126. Indecent assault. (a) Offense defined.--A person who has indecent contact with the complainant or causes the complainant to have indecent contact with the person is guilty of indecent assault if:
the person does so without the complainant's consent; the person does so by forcible compulsion; the person does so by threat of forcible compulsion that would prevent resistance by a person of reasonable resolution; the complainant is unconscious or the person knows that the complainant is unaware that the indecent contact is occurring; the person has substantially impaired the complainant's power to appraise or control his or her conduct by administering or employing, without the knowledge of the complainant, drugs, intoxicants or other means for the purpose of preventing resistance; the complainant suffers from a mental disability which renders him or her incapable of consent; the complainant is less than 13 years of age; or the complainant is less than 16 years of age and the person is four or more years older than the complainant and the complainant and the person are not married to each other.
(b) Grading.--Indecent assault under subsection (a)(7) is a misdemeanor of the first degree. Otherwise, indecent assault is a misdemeanor of the second degree.
If you are charged with this section you SHOULD contact an attorney immediately.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Levin & Zeiger LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


