Pennsylvania  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
6/08/09, 6:13 pm

Legal Question


Discriminatory Hiring Practices?

I had a brief telephone interview for an insurance adjuster job. The posting on Monster said it was a non-smoking environment. I was asked if I smoked and I said,'' No, I had quit in February.'' I was immediately told I could not longer be considered for employment. I could however reapply after 1 year of being smoke-free.

Is this legal? Do I have any recourse? Is there a way to make the insurance company post their companies hiring policy in their job postings?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search