Pennsylvania | Family Law
Legal Question
seperation
i was wondering about the rights i have about asking my husband to leave our home
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Nahrgang |
Re: seperation PA has been a no fault divorce state since 1980. In the words of the statute, "the marriage has irretrievably broken down". Most people prefer to proceed on that basis as it is generally easier, less emotionally taxing and less expensive.
There are 2 types of no fault, consent and separation. Consent can be accomplished within 5 months assuming all the property is divided. Separation requires that you be separated for 2 years.
Regarding exclusive possession (forcing your husband to leave the house), the main way to do that is by proving fear of physical abuse. Do you have such a reasonable fear?
I trust this answers your questions, but feel free to call or E-mail on a free initial basis.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of John A. Davidson
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Law Offices of Cary B. Hall, L.L.C.
Souderton, PA
Questions Answered: 204
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


