Pennsylvania | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
suing assailant for medical bills
I was assaulted by my fiancees mother in febuary 2006, she was arrested an charged with simple assault and harrassment. I had the charges dropped . I incured approximately $ 1070 in medical bills and spent appr. $140 on prescriptions because my back was severely injured during the assault. I was in severe pain and could barely walk for 1-2 months after the assault happened. What made it worse was that my daughter was 15 months old at the time and I could hardly lift or carry her , I could not walk up or down stairs and we were living in a 2 story town home at the time. To this day I still have problems , some mornings I am barely able to get out of bed and I have a hard time sitting up from a laying down position. What actions can I take against this person? We have already been through the criminal proceedure, I would like to know how I now go about suing her for the medical bills and the pain and suffering I endured as a result of this assault? Also can she be responsible for future medical bills?


