Pennsylvania  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/23/09, 2:31 pm

My wife was paying child support to the father of her child before we were married. In 2005 he was convicted of attempting sexual acts on a child. His children were taken away from him. He was court ordered to for him to stop the child support, and we found out later he did not. Then my wife and I got married in 2007. In 2008 Child Support took $5,100 out of my tax return which he was not entitled to. He was told to give it back by his mother which we are friendly with, so he knew he was in the wrong, then went and bought a new car with it. My wife took him to court to have the child support stopped and was retro dated back to 2005. Was told I can sue him now. My question is, considering he knew he wasn't supposed to get my money and we almost lost our house because we couldn't pay our property tax(which that money was for), caused a lot of problems for our children due to me being layed off of employment, can I sue him for more than he took, for the damages caused by his ruthlessness?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

7566 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search