Pennsylvania  |  Employment Law

question bubble
8/13/05, 11:48 am

Legal Question


Holiday pay for 10 hour, 4 day work week

I and some other employees work a 10 hour/4 day work week. If a holiday

falls on a day that I work, my employer pays me for only 8 hrs of work as

holiday pay. If I want a 40 hr paycheck the employer expects me to use 2

hours of my personal time or vacation to make up the difference. There are

also people that work the 8 hr/5 day schedule at our place of employment. Is

this legal? Also, my reciept of benefits is dependent on working 40 hrs per

week, therefore if I am only paid for 38 hours, I am short 2 hours. In

addition, I accumulate vacation and personal time based on hours worked.

Therefore, this affects that as well.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search