Pennsylvania  |  Employment Law

question bubble
8/27/07, 10:44 am

Legal Question


New job blocked?

Hi,

We work as pharmacists in the healthcare field in a small to medium sized market. There are only 3 hospitals in a 15 mile radius to work at....and everytime we see a better job at one of the other hospitals about 3 or 4 of us apply. We each have between 10-24 years of experience yet none of us ever get an interview for these open positions....and these positions are not filled quickly and may be open for 2-4 months. In fact right now there were 3 jobs open at another of these hospitals, four of us applied, none of us even received interviews.... and 3 months later the jobs are still open.

Now the problem.....the three persons running the departments in all three hospitals know each other very well and it has been said that they have an informal agreement not to take each others workers. Thinking about it we never hired (in my 15 years here) a worker from the the other two, nor have any of us secured a job at the other two.

This keeps costs down for all three hospitals but restricts our movement to get a better job. I know this would be difficult to prove but is there anything we can do or any agency that would investigate this for us.

Thanks,

Francis


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search