Pennsylvania  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
5/17/07, 3:47 pm

Legal Question


Scared into accepting plea bargain

Roughly five years ago I was arrested for two misdemeanor counts. At my trial/sentencing the ADA offered one year's probation for both if I pleaded guilty. I initially wanted to plead no contest to both charges. My atty explained that the deal was contingent on my guilty plea and that if we went to trial that we stood a good chance of losing. He went so far as to say the judge would be irritated for having ''wasted his time'' with a flimsy defense. He added that if I didn't accept the plea bargain that the ADA would be recommending the max jail time of five years. I took the plea.

I spoke with someone in the public defender's office who stated that my atty never should have accepted the plea and that I was never going to jail.

Upon hearing of my conviction the military discharged me and barred from enlisting in any other branch. Five years later I still can't re-enlist, despite the numerous moral waivers being granted. The misdemeanors have made finding employment in the civilian world equally difficult.

Do I have any recourse, as my atty mislead me, as well as took the path of least resistance at my expense?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search