Pennsylvania  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
4/25/01, 2:54 pm

Legal Question


Validity of PAP Smears and Quality Control

Approx. 2 years ago, my wife had her normal PAP smear. At that time, the lab reported that there were no problems. One year after that time, they did ''Quality Control'' on their work. They found out that they made a mistake on their original work. It turns out that my wife had moderate cervical dysplasia. This was taken care of last year, but has now recurred. My question is, does she have any rights to go against the lab, because they waited so long to do quality control. We realized that the PAP smear testing is not 100% accurate, but to wait so long to check someone's work is, what we feel, unacceptable. Thank you very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search