Pennsylvania  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
4/25/06, 12:48 pm

Legal Question


defamation of character

During a sermon in church, the priest stated to the congration that I was a liar.In his sermon ,he did not elaborate as to why he made this statement only that in a converstation with him I stated that I liked him..The only thing that comes to mind is that a few weeks earlier in a conversation with him, I told him that I liked him as a person. Subsequently, I did not attend his services for two weeks. During this time, this priest harassed my son by phone and by driving to his college campus to meet him - a three hour drive. My son refused to meet him. ( I think this issue is relevant because the next sunday is when he made the statement.) Also, I had no contact with the priest nor did I speak to anyone about him during these two weeks. I do not understand why he made this statement.I cannot speak to him without fear of retribution or action that he as a priest says he can take within the church. I feel that I was unfairly treated. I am an officer of this church as well as a life long member. Do I have any rights or recourse to stop this person from harming my reputation further?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search