Pennsylvania | Personal Injury
Legal Question
statute of limitations
My 82 year old father was t boned in an auto accident on jan 9 2004 by a hit and run driver who was later found. The other parties insurance carrier accepted liability. My father had some tests run but was just bruised and in pain for about three weeks but recovered. The defendants carrier made a settlement offer of about $300. I wasn't satisfied and sent all the papers to an attorney who told me he'd take care of it but strung me out for 17 months and never returned my calls although his secretary assured me he would. Now I'm up against the statute. How can I settle this with the carrier before the statute tolls? I look like a fool because I told their adjuster that this attorney was going to handle the claim. Can a precipae be filed by me before the statute tolls. I'm afraid the carrier will put me off until Jan 9 passes and then tell me to go fly a kite. Thanks


