Pennsylvania | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
If you could answer the question below, it would be appreciated:
Narrative
I have an aunt who's husband has just recently passed away in Pennsylvania. They were married for approximately 25 years. 5 years ago, they purchased a home and they put only his name on the deed. He did not have a will. Now that he has passed away, she is planning on selling the home. She has two children (both are adults, independent).
Question
Does the property transfer to her without issue or will she be required to pay inheritance tax since the deed was in her husband's name and he did not assign her the property in a will?
Please feel free to ask any follow up questions.
Thank you for your time.


